Helpful Links

Connect with other organizations and resources

Philadelphia Historical Commission

The Historical Commission is the City of Philadelphia’s historic preservation regulatory agency. The Commission has the authority to designate properties as historic and list them on the Philadelphia Register of Historic Places and to approve or deny building permit applications for designated properties. More information can be found at www.phila.gov/historical

Of Local Historical Interest

Black Bottom History    https://theblackbottom.wordpress.com/communities/blackbottom/history/

Drexel University Archives     https://www.library.drexel.edu/archives/overview/

Lancaster Avenue History   https://www.lancasteravephilly.com/history.html

Penn Archives & Resource Center    https://archives.upenn.edu

Powelton Village Interactive Map   https://poweltonvillage.org/historicalmap/

University City District   http://universitycity.org

West Philadelphia Collaborative History   https://collaborativehistory.gse.upenn.edu

West Philadelphia Community History   https://westphillyhistory.archives.upenn.edu/history

Philadelphia Historical Resources

Chestnut Hill Conservancy    http://www.chconservancy.org

East Falls Historical Society    https://eastfallshistoricalsociety.org

ExplorePAhistory.com http://www.explorehistory.com

Germantown Historical Society   http://www.germantownhistory.org

Hidden City Philadelphia   https://hiddencityphila.org/

Historical Society of Pennsylvania http://www.hsp.org

Lower Merion Historical Society   http://www.lowermerionhistory.org

Philadelphia Architects and Buildings Project   http://www.philadelphiabuildings.org

Philadelphia Athenaeum: Architectural Archives   http://www.philaathenaeum.org/

Philadelphia City Archive   http://www.phillyhistory.org

Preservation Alliance of Greater Philadelphia    https://www.preservationalliance.com

Local Civic & Neighborhood Associations

Cedar Park Neighbors   http://www.cedarparkneighbors.org

Cobbs Creek Neighbors    https://www.facebook.com/CobbsCreekNeighbors/

Crosstown Coalition of Civics    https://www.philacrosstown.org

Friends of Clark Park    https://www.friendsofclarkpark.org

Garden Court    https://www.gardencourtca.org

Mantua Civic Association   https://www.mantuacivic.org

Spruce Hill Community Association  https://www.sprucehillca.org

Powelton Village Civic Association  www.poweltonvillage.org

Walnut Hill Community Association https://walnuthillca.com

West Philadelphia Corridor Collaborative   https://westphillycc.org/the-district

Books

Becoming Penn, The Pragmatic American University, 1950-2000, By John L. Puckett and Mark Frazier Lloyd

https://www.upenn.edu/pennpress/book/15380.html

Historic Architecture in West Philadelphia, 1789-1930s, By Joseph Minardi

https://www.schifferbooks.com/historic-architecture-in-west-philadelphia-1789-1930s-3308

Powelton Village, By M. Earl Smith, Introduction by Dr. Deborah Burnham

https://www.arcadiapublishing.com/Products/9781467124348

West Philadelphia: University City to 52nd Street, By Robert Morris Skaler

https://www.arcadiapublishing.com/Products/9780738509709

%d bloggers like this: